Year I Geography Knowledge Organiser - The UK

England

Key Information

The UK means the United Kingdom.

The UK is made up of 4 countries: England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales.

To remember the points on a compass you can use 'Naughty, elephants, Squirt, Water'.

The capital city of England is London.

The capital city of Wales is Cardiff.

The capital city of Scotland is Edinburgh.

The capital city of Northern Ireland is Belfast.



5	5	5
	Vocabulary	
	Human features	These are things in the environment that have been made or built.
	Physical features	These are the things in the environment that were always there. Nobody made or built them.
	Capital city	A city or a town where the governments central meeting place is.
	Island	Land fully surrounded by water.
	Mis conceptions	
	Some people think that Ireland and Northern Ireland are the same country but only Northen Ireland is in the UK.	
	Some people think that Ireland and island mean the same but only one is the name of a country and the other means land fully surrounded by water.	
west	north ea	st Wales
	south	Scotland Northern Ireland