Key Diagrams

Compass points (North, East, South, West)



Iceberg



Arctic circle



Equator



Key Facts

- I. The Arctic is the area at the north of the Earth and it is made up of sea ice in the Arctic Ocean
- 2. The north pole is at the centre of the Arctic
- 3. The north and south poles (Artic and Antarctica) are the coldest places on Earth as they are the furthest from the equator.
- 4. The 8 main counties which contain land in the Arctic circle are: Norway, Sweden, Finland, Greenland, Russia, Alaska, Iceland, Canada
- 5. The Arctic ice has lots of icebergs
- 6. Global warming is melting the ice in the Arctic
- 7. The animals that in the Arctic are: arctic fox, arctic hare, arctic wolf, polar bear, caribou, snowy owl, beluga whale, seal and walrus

Vocabulary	
Arctic	A polar region in the north of the Earth
Icebergs	Pieces of ice floating in the ocean
Equator	An imaginary line around the middle of Earth like a belt which is the hottest place on the Earth
Snowmobile	A mode of transport like a jet ski for the snow and ice
Arctic circle	An imaginary line that circles the top of the globe
Global warming	The rising temperature of the plant
Inuit	People who live in the Arctic regions

