

#### Confirmed Curriculum and Standards Committee - Terms of Reference 2023-2024

(Agreed at Full Trustee Board of 21/11/23 – membership changed 12/03/24 FTB)

# Note: These Terms of Reference align with the NGA's recommended Terms of Reference for this Committee

#### **Membership**

- 1. The Committee shall consist of at least six members of the Trustee Body.
- 2. The Chair of the Committee will normally be a member of the board of Trustees.
- 3. Non-voting participants may be invited to meetings by the Committee as and when required.
- 4. The Committee shall have such co-opted, non-voting members as the Trustee Body shall appoint. The Committee may make recommendations for these appointments.

The membership of the Committee shall be reviewed and determined annually by the Trustee Body. The agreed membership of the Committee for 2023-2024 is shown at the end of this document.

#### Quorum

The quorum shall be three members, excluding any co-opted non-voting members.

# **Meetings**

The Clerk to the Board/the Chair shall be responsible for convening meetings of the Committee. Procedures of any meetings held must be minuted and these minutes presented to the next meeting of the Trustee Body.

The Committee shall meet at least once a term and otherwise as required.

# Responsibilities

#### A. Strategic School Improvement

To Review, Monitor and Propose Improvements relating to the following key areas:-

#### 1. Quality of Education

- Curriculum Design and Delivery
- Teaching
- Assessment
- Attainment and Progress
- · External Review

# 2. Behaviour and Attitudes

- · Behaviour including Bullying and Exclusions
- Attendance

#### 3. Personal Development

- Spiritual, Moral, Social and cultural Development including Citizenship and Healthy Living
- Careers and Destinations
- To oversee arrangements for educational visits, including the appointment of a named co-ordinator.

# B. Policies

To review and approve policies identified within the school's policy review programme and in accordance with the Committee's delegated powers.

# Agreed Membership of the Curriculum and Standards Committee for 2023-24

Dr Phil Range (Chair)
Mr Peter Faulkner (Vice Chair)
Mrs Susan Brown
Mr Mark Russel
Mrs Florica Patel
Rev Kevin Jones
Mr Matthew Eastham (Principal)