## Continents and oceans knowledge mat

## Sticky Knowledge-What do I need to know?

The Earth is made up of seven continents and five oceans. The Earth is split into the Northern and Southern Hemispheres.

The seven continents are Asia, Africa, North America, South America, Antarctica, Europe and Australia. The five oceans are Pacific Ocean, Atlantic Ocean, Indian Ocean, Southern Ocean and Arctic Ocean.



know and understand?			
		equator	It's an imaginary line around the centre of the Earth. It is very hot at the equator.
continent	A large area of land.		
	5 5	Northern Hemisphere	The Northern Hemisphere is the half
ocean	A huge body of salt water.		of the Earth that is north of the equator.
country	A nation with its own government.		
	The dot whit is own government.	Southern Hemisphere	The Southern Hemisphere is the half
cardinal points	The four main points of the compass. North, South, East and West.		of the Earth that is south of the equator.