

Knowledge organiser - United Kingdom

What will we be learning?

- The location of the four countries.
- The four capitals and surrounding seas.
- Human and physical features of the UK.
- Human and physical features of the capital cities.
- Sharing our understanding of the UK.

Key facts

The countries of the United Kingdom: England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

The four capital cities: London (England), Edinburgh (Scotland), Cardiff (Wales) and Belfast (Northern Ireland).

Key knowledge

The United Kingdom is part of the continent of Europe. It is made up of four countries, which all have their own capital

Each country has its own flag. The United Kingdom also has a flag, which is sometimes called the Union Jack.

The United Kingdom is an island: it is surrounded by water.

The UK has human and physical features. Human features are made by people and physical features are made by nature.



Place names	Geographical terms and processes	Locational terms
Ben Nevis English Channel Europe Ireland Irish Sea North Sea My town or local area	city country river sea town village	across northern

Glossary

capital city: the city where a country's government is, such as London or Edinburgh country: an area of land that has its own government, such as the UK or France

feature: something you would find in a place that is usually there (such as a hill or a house)