Name of Governing Body: ST EDMUND ARROWSMITH CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL



The remit for the Governing Body is to:

- a) Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
- b) Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
- c) Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governing Body Composition:

Type of Governor	No.
Headteacher	1
Local Authority	1
Parent	2
Staff	1
Foundation	7
Total	12

Chair of Governing Body: Mr P Westhead

Clerk to Governors:

Mrs P Lennon

St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic High School

Rookery Avenue

Ashton in Makerfield

Wigan WN4 9PF Tel: 01942 728651

Names of Governors	Type of Governor	Term of Office	Date of Appointment	End date for appointment	Date of resignation (if resigned in the last 12 months)	Appointing Body
Stephen Westhead	Foundation	4 yrs	01.10.2020	30.09.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Mark Dumican	Headteacher	4 yrs	01.10.2014	n/a		Headteacher
Peter Phillips	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2018	31.08.2022		Wigan Council *(Appointed by Governing Body)
Paul Jensen	Local Authority	4 yrs	04.12.2018	03.12.2022		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Peter McGuire	Foundation	4 yrs	15.11.2018	14.11.2022		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Fr John Gorman	Foundation	4 yrs	15.10.2017	14.10.2021		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Andrew Connellan	Foundation	4 yrs	22.02.2020	21.02.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Simon Atherton	Parent	4 yrs	07.04.2017	06.04.2021		Elected by parents
Jayne Harrald	Parent	4 yrs	17.12.2019	16.12.2023		Elected by parents
Claire Brophy	Staff	4 yrs	15.10.2019	14.10.2023		Elected by Governing Body
Catherine Hopkins	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2020	31.08.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Peter Whitfield	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2020	31.08.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Mr Paul Holden	Foundation		01.09.2016		31.08.2020	The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Mr Gareth Heaton	Foundation		01.09.2016		31.08.2020	The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Mr Neil Harrison	Parent		16.12.2015	for all ation this w	15.12.2019	Elected by parents

^{*(}if this is an appointed position because there were insufficient candidates for election this will need to be changed to 'appointed by the Governing Body')

In a voluntary aided, voluntary controlled or foundation school you will need to name to diocese, archdiocese or PCC or the organisation that appoints the foundation governors

Specific Responsibilities

Responsibility	Name
Safeguarding/Child Protection Governor	Mr P Jensen
SEND Governor	Mr S Atherton
PDC	Mr S Atherton
Health and Safety	Mr P McGuire
Chaplaincy	Fr J Gorman
CLA (Children Looked After)	Mr A Connellan
Pupil Premium	Mr A Connellan
Data	Mr A Connellan

Links to Departments / Year Groups

GOVERNOR	DEPARTMENT(S)	YEAR GROUP
Mr P Whitfield	ART	YEAR 7
	MUSIC	
Mr A Connellan	ENGLISH	
	MFL	
Mrs J Harrald	DRAMA	
	GEOGRAPHY	
Mr P McGuire	TECHNOLOGY	YEAR 8
	COMPUTING	
Mr P Jensen	RE	YEAR 9
	SCIENCE	
Miss C Brophy	PE	
Mr P Phillips	HISTORY	YEAR 11
	MATHS	
Miss C Hopkins		YEAR 10

Committee Structure

Finance and Buildings Committee Remit: To include all areas of Finance and Buildings for which the Governing Body is responsible. All members have voting rights. Membership (Chair & Vice-Chair) to be decided Mr A Connellan Mr P Jensen Mrs J Harrald Mr P McGuire **Curriculum and Standards Committee** Remit: To include the formulation and review of all school targets and the oversight and regular review of the school curriculum. All members have voting rights. Membership Mr P Phillips (Chair) Mr S Atherton Vice-Chair to be decided Mr P Whitfield **Pay and Performance Committee** Remit: To include making decisions about performance related pay for teachers and the Headteacher. All members have voting rights. Membership (Chair & Vice-Chair) to be decided Mr A Connellan Mr S Westhead Mrs J Harrald **Personnel Committee** Remit: To include the formulation and review of all staffing issues including the recruitment of new staff. All members have voting rights. Membership (Chair & Vice-Chair) to be decided Mr S Westhead Fr J Gorman Mr S Atherton Mr P Phillips Miss C Brophy

Ad-hoc Committees:

- Staff Disciplinary/Dismissals/Appeals
- Pupil Discipline
- Complaints
- Appeals

Three governors with no prior knowledge will be called alphabetically to form the committee. Terms of reference for all committees are available on request from school.

Register of Interests

Name	Details of Pecuniary Interest	Details of Personal/Other Interest
Miss C Brophy	Head of Science St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	
Mr M Dumican	Headteacher St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	Governor St Aidan's Catholic Primary School
Mrs J Harrald		Parent of Pupil St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Miss C Hopkins		Parent of Pupil St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Mr P Jensen	Sole Proprietor Paul Jensen Ltd	
Mr P McGuire		St John Rigby 6 th Form College Foundation Governor
Mr P Phillips		St John Rigby College Vice-Chair on Governing Body St Joseph's Wrightington
		Governor
Mr P Whitfield		Parent of Pupil St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS

Material Interests

Record any material interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staff (including spouses, partners or close relatives).

Name	Details of Material Interest	
Mr P Whitfield	Relative (Grandfather): C Wilson, Postholder in Maths	