# Name of Governing Body: ST EDMUND ARROWSMITH CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL 2024-2025



The remit for the Governing Body is to:

- a) Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
- b) Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
- c) Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

## **Governing Body Composition:**

Type of Governor	No.
Headteacher (ex-officio)	1
Local Authority	1
Parent	2
Staff	1
Foundation	7
Associate Member	2
Total	14

Chair of Governing Body: Mr Stephen Westhead

Clerk to Governors:

Mrs P Lennon

St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic High School

Rookery Avenue

Ashton in Makerfield

Wigan WN4 9PF Tel: 01942 728651

Names of Governors	Type of Governor	Date First Appointed	Term Start Date	Term End Date	Date of resignation (if resigned in the last 12 months)	Appointing Body
Mark Dumican	Headteacher	N/A	01.10.2014	n/a		Headteacher
Lisa Boardman	Parent	01.09.2021	01.11.2021	31.10.2025		Elected by parents
Jim Bryne	Foundation	01.09.2021	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Clare Brophy	Staff	14.10.2019	14.10.2023	13.10.2027		Elected by Governing Body
Andrew Connellan	Foundation	22.02.2003	22.02.2024	21.02.2028		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Joanne Farrimond	Foundation	08.12.2020	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		Elected by parents
Catherine Hopkins	Foundation	01.09.2020	01.09.2024	31.08.2028		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Paul Jensen	Local Authority	Not set	04.12.2018	03.12.2026		Wigan Council *(appointed by Governing Body)
Peter McGhee	Foundation	01.09.2021	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
David Thompson	Parent	08.01.2024	08.01.2024	07.01.2028		Elected by Parents
Stephen Westhead	Foundation	01.10.2012	01.10.2024	30.09.2028		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Peter Whitfield	Foundation	01.09.2020	01.09.2024	31.08.2028		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Nicola Holland	Associate Member	01.09.2023	01.09.2023	31.08.2027		Elected by Governing Body
Cate Woods	Associate Member	20.09.2023	20.09.2023	19.09.2027		Elected by Governing Body
Resignations						

<sup>\*(</sup>if this is an appointed position because there were insufficient candidates for election this will need to be changed to 'appointed by the Governing Body'). Term of Office is 4 years.

Responsibility	Name
Attendance	L Boardman
Safeguarding	S Westhead
SEND	J Farrimond
Wellbeing (Staff)	N Holland
H&S/GDPR	D Thompson
PDC/Careers	D Thompson
Chaplaincy	J Byrne
Curriculum / T&L	L Boardman
Pupil Premium & Children Looked After	A Connellan
Data/Pupil Progress & Achievement	P Whitfield

# **Links to Departments / Year Groups**

GOVERNOR	DEPARTMENT(S)	YEAR GROUP
Joanne Farrimond	PE	
	1 <b>L</b>	
Peter Whitfield	ART	YEAR 7
	MUSIC	
Andy Connellan	ENGLISH	
	MFL	
Dave Thompson		
Lisa Boardman	HUMANITIES	
	(GEOG/HISTORY)	
Nicola Holland	TECHNOLOGY	YEAR 9
Paul Jensen	SCIENCE	YEAR 10
	DRAMA	
Clare Brophy	MATHS	YEAR 11
	COMPUTING	
Cathrine Hopkins		YEAR 8
Peter McGhee		
	DE/DOE	
Jim Byrne	RE/RSE	

### **Committee Structure**

# Finance, Premises & Personnel Committee (FP&P)

**Remit**: To include all areas of Finance, Premises and Personnel for which the Governing Body is responsible in accordance with the Terms of Reference. All members have voting rights.

#### Membership (6): (Quorate Minimum 3)

- Jim Byrne
- Andrew Connellan
- Dave Thompson

- Cathrine Hopkins
- Paul Jensen
- Nicola Holland (Associate Member)

#### **Quality of Education Committee (QEC)**

**Remit**: To challenge and monitor educational, behavioural and pastoral standards as detailed within the Terms of Reference. All members have voting rights.

#### Membership (6): (Quorate Minimum 3)

- Mark Dumican
- Clare Brophy
- Lisa Boardman

- Joanne Farrimond (Vice-Chair)
- Peter McGhee
- Peter Whitfield (Chair)

## Pay and Performance Committee (P&P)

Remit: To include making decisions about performance related pay for teachers and the Performance management of the Headteacher. All members have voting rights.

#### Membership (3)

- Andy Connellan (Chair)
- Peter Whitfield

Stephen Westhead

#### **Ad-hoc Committees:**

- Staff Disciplinary/Dismissals/Appeals
- Pupil Discipline
- Complaints
- Appeals

Three governors with no prior knowledge will be called alphabetically to form the committee. Terms of reference for all committees are available on request from school.

# **Register of Interests**

Name	<b>Details of Pecuniary Interest</b>	Details of Personal/Other Interest
Clare Brophy	Head of Science	
	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	
Mark Dumican	Headteacher	Governor
	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	St Aidan's Catholic Primary School
		Governor
		St John Rigby College
Joanne Farrimond	Parent of Pupil	Headteacher at St Aidan's Primary School
Cathrine Hopkins	Exams Invigilator	
Paul Jensen		Sole Proprietor
D		Paul Jensen Ltd
Peter Whitfield		Outwood Academy Data & Exams Manager
Peter McGhee	St John Rigby College Principal	Foundation Governor at Our Lady Queen of Peace, Skelmersdale
		Trustee of the Loreto Education Trust which oversees a co-educational high school in Manchester and 3 all girl 11-18 schools in England
Lisa Boardman	Parent of Pupil	Executive Headteacher
	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	The Wings CE Trust
		Atherton St George's/
		The Wings CE Trust
		Headteacher
Nicola Holland	Parent of Pupil	Parent Governor
		St Benedicts Catholic Primary School

# **Material Interests**

Record any material interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staff (including spouses, partners or close relatives).

Name	Details of Material Interest