Name of Governing Body: ST EDMUND ARROWSMITH CATHOLIC HIGH SCHOOL 2023-2024



The remit for the Governing Body is to:

- a) Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
- b) Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff; and
- c) Oversee the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Governing Body Composition:

Type of Governor	No.
Headteacher (ex-officio)	1
Local Authority	1
Parent	2
Staff	1
Foundation	7
Associate Member	1
Total	13

Chair of Governing Body: Mr Stephen Westhead

Clerk to Governors:

Mrs P Lennon

St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic High School

Rookery Avenue

Ashton in Makerfield

Wigan WN4 9PF Tel: 01942 728651

Names of Governors	Type of Governor	Term of Office	Date of Appointment	End date for appointment	Date of resignation (if resigned in the last 12 months)	Appointing Body
Mark Dumican	Headteacher	4 yrs	01.10.2014	n/a		Headteacher
Jim Bryne	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Clare Brophy	Staff	4 yrs	15.10.2019	14.10.2023		Elected by Governing Body
Andrew Connellan	Foundation	4 yrs	22.02.2020	21.02.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Joanne Farrimond	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		Elected by parents
Jayne Harrald	Parent	4 yrs	17.12.2019	16.12.2023		Elected by parents
Catherine Hopkins	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2020	31.08.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Paul Jensen	Local Authority	4 yrs	04.12.2018	03.12.2026		Wigan Council *(appointed by Governing Body)
Stephen Westhead	Foundation	4 yrs	01.10.2020	30.09.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Peter Whitfield	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2020	31.08.2024		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Peter McGhee	Foundation	4 yrs	01.09.2021	31.08.2025		The Archdiocese of Liverpool
Lisa Boardman	Parent	4 yrs	01.11.2021	31.10.2025		Elected by parents
Nicola Holland	Associate Member	4 yrs	01.09.2023	31.08.2027		Elected by Governing Body
Resignations						
Andrew Wilkinson	Associate Member	4 yrs	01.11.2021	31.10.2025	21.03.2023	Elected by Governing Body

^{*(}if this is an appointed position because there were insufficient candidates for election this will need to be changed to 'appointed by the Governing Body')

In a voluntary aided, voluntary controlled or foundation school you will need to name to Diocese, Archdiocese or PCC or the organisation that appoints the foundation governors

Specific Responsibilities

Responsibility	Name
Attendance	Lisa Boardman
Safeguarding	Stephen Westhead
SEND	Joanne Farrimond
PDC/Careers	Cathrine Hopkins
Wellbeing (Staff)	Nicola Holland
H&S/GDPR	Jayne Harrald
Chaplaincy	Jim Byrne
Curriculum / T&L	Lisa Boardman
Pupil Premium & Children Looked After	Andy Connellan
Data/Pupil Progress & Achievement	Peter Whitfield

Links to Departments / Year Groups

GOVERNOR	DEPARTMENT(S)	YEAR GROUP
Joanne Farrimond	PE	YEAR 9
Peter Whitfield	ART	YEAR 10
	MUSIC	
Andy Connellan	ENGLISH	
	MFL	
Jayne Harrald	DRAMA	
Lisa Boardman	HUMANITIES	
	(GEOG/HISTORY)	
Nicola Holland	TECHNOLOGY	
Paul Jensen	SCIENCE	YEAR 11
Clare Brophy	MATHS	
	COMPUTING	
Cathrine Hopkins		YEAR 7
Peter McGhee		YEAR 8
Jim Byrne	RE/RSE	

Committee Structure

Finance, Premises & Personnel Committee (FP&P)

Remit: To include all areas of Finance, Premises and Personnel for which the Governing Body is responsible in accordance with the Terms of Reference. All members have voting rights.

Membership (6): (Quorate Minimum 3)

- Jim Byrne
- Andrew Connellan (Vice-Chair)
- Jayne Harrald
- (Chair)
- Cathrine Hopkins
- Paul Jensen
- Nicola Holland

Quality of Education Committee (QEC)

Remit: To challenge and monitor educational, behavioural and pastoral standards as detailed within the Terms of Reference. All members have voting rights.

Membership (6): (Quorate Minimum 3)

- Mark Dumican
- Clare Brophy
- Lisa Boardman

- Joanne Farrimond (Vice-Chair)
- Peter McGhee
- Peter Whitfield (Chair)

Pay and Performance Committee (P&P)

Remit: To include making decisions about performance related pay for teachers and the Performance management of the Headteacher. All members have voting rights.

Membership (3)

- Andy Connellan (Chair)
- Jayne Harrald (Vice-Chair)
- Stephen Westhead

Ad-hoc Committees:

- Staff Disciplinary/Dismissals/Appeals
- Pupil Discipline
- Complaints
- Appeals

Three governors with no prior knowledge will be called alphabetically to form the committee. Terms of reference for all committees are available on request from school.

Register of Interests

Name	Details of Pecuniary Interest	Details of Personal/Other Interest
Clare Brophy	Head of Science	
	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	
Mark Dumican	Headteacher	Governor
	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS	St Aidan's Catholic Primary School
Joanne Farrimond	Headteacher of St Aidan's	Parent of Pupil
	Primary School	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Jayne Harrald		Parent of Pupil
		St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Cathrine Hopkins		Parent of Pupil
		St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Paul Jensen	Sole Proprietor	
D	Paul Jensen Ltd	
Peter Whitfield		Parent of Pupil
		St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS
Peter McGhee		Governor at Our Lady Queen of
		Peace, Skelmersdale
		Trustee of the Loreto Education Trust
		which oversees a co-educational high
		school in Manchester and 3 all girl 11-18 schools in England
Lisa Boardman	Executive Headteacher	Parent of Pupil
	The Wings CE Trust	St Edmund Arrowsmith CHS

Material Interests

Record any material interests arising from relationships between governors or relationships between governors and school staff (including spouses, partners or close relatives).

Name	Details of Material Interest		