

Academy Council Organisation 2020-2021

Academy Council Composition

Type of Councillor	Number
Trust Appointed	7
Headteacher	1
Parent	1
Staff	1
Total	10

<u>Chair of Academy Council:</u> Paula Crawley C/o The Westleigh School Westleigh Lane Leigh Wigan WN7 5NL

Vice-Chair of Academy Council: Sue Foster Academy Council Clerk: Jill Cadman

Current Councillors

Councillor Name	Type of Councillor	Term of Office	Voting Rights
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	Commenced 01.09.2015	Y
Paula Crawley(Chair)	Trust Appointed	04.03.2020 - 03.03.2021	Y
Sue Foster (Vice-Chair)	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Y
John Holland	Trust Appointed	16.12.2019 – 15.12.2023	Y
Carol Hulme	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Y
Deborah Lawson	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Y
Dane Anderton	Trust Appointed	14.02.2020 - 13.02.2024	Y
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	04.03.2020 - 03.03.2021	Y
Lorraine Brooks	Staff	27.11.2020 – 26.11.2024	Y
Tom Kearns	Observer	01.09.2016 - 31.08.2020	N
Paul Lamoury	Observer	19.03.2017 - 18.03.2021	N
Gillian Reiersen	Observer	20.03.2017 - 19.03.2021	N

Councillors who have left within the last 12 Months

Councillor Name	Type of Councillor	Term of Office	Details of Pecuniary or personal interest or Governance role in other educational institutions
Gail Richards	Parent	28.11.2016 – 27.11.2020	Nil
Gareth Sutton	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 - 16.09.2020	Nil
Kelly Partington	Trust Appointed	28.09.2018 - 10.12.2019	Nil
Jill Hankinson	Trust Appointed	02.02.2016 - 01.02.2020	Nil

FINANCE & RESOURCES COMM	TTEE		
Chair: Deborah Lawson			
Vice-Chair: Dane Anderton			
Clerk: Jill Cadman			
Name	Type of Councillor / Associate	Voting	
Carltan Dramwall	Member	rights	
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	Y Y	
Deborah Lawson	Trust Appointed	•	
Paula Crawley	Trust Appointed	Y	
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	Y	
Lorraine Brooks	Staff	Y	
John Holland	Trust Appointed	Y	
Dane Anderton	Trust Appointed	Y	
Tom Kearns (DHT)	Observer	Y	
Paul Lamoury (DHT)	Observer	Y	
School Business Manager (Gill Reiersen)	Observer	N	
EDUCATION & STANDARDS COM	IMITTEE	·	
Chair: Sue Foster Vice Chair: Deborah Lawson Clerk: Jill Cadman			
Name	Type of Councillor / Associate Member	Voting rights	
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	Υ	
Sue Foster	Trust Appointed	Y	
Deborah Lawson	Trust Appointed	Y	
Carol Hulme	Trust Appointed	Y	
Paula Crawley	Trust Appointed	Y	
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	Y	
Tom Kearns (DHT) Observer Y			
Paul Lamoury (DHT)	Observer	Y	

Pay Committee	Clerked by Jill Cadman		
Name		Type of Councillor	
John Holland		Trust Appointed	
Sue Foster		Trust Appointed	
Deborah Lawson		Trust Appointed	

Pupil Discipline, General Complaints, Staff Dismissal/Grievance/Appeals Committees: 3 Councillors, with no prior knowledge of the matter, will be called alphabetically to form these committees.

Specific Responsibilities

Responsibility	Name of Councillor
SEND and Inclusion*	John Holland
Safeguarding/Child Protection *	Sue Foster and Dawn Platt
including Children Looked After	
Health & Safety	Carol Hulme and Lorraine Brooks
Finance	Vacancy
Behaviour and Personal Development	Sue Foster and Dawn Platt
Careers and IAG	Dane Anderton
Pupil Premium	John Holland and Dawn Platt
*statutory	

Pupil Discipline, General Complaints, Staff Dismissal/Grievance/Appeals Committees: 3 Governors, with no prior knowledge of the matter, will be called alphabetically to form

these committees.

Dates of Meetings

Term	Date	Meeting
Autumn Term	Wednesday 23 rd September 2020	Full Academy Council Meeting
Term	Tuesday 20 th October 2020 4pm	Nomination and Ren Committee Meeting
	Tuesday 10 th November 2020	Committee Meetings
	Tuesday 15 th December 2020 4pm	Full Academy Council Meeting
Spring Term	Tuesday 9 th February 2021	Committee Meetings
Term	Wednesday 28 th April 2021 4pm	Full Academy Council Meeting
Summer Term	Tuesday 6 th July 2021	Committee Meetings

Finance & Resources Committee at 4pm Education & Standards Committee at 5pm

Register of Business and Pecuniary Interests

Details of interest	•			Date ceased
Current paid	Paula Crawley	Nil		
employment	Sue Foster	Nil		
	Dawn Platt	Deputy Regional Director of the Shaw Education Trust	2017	
	Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher of The Westleigh School	09.2015	
	John Holland	Nil		
	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Nil		
	Lorraine Brooks	Finance Officer at The Westleigh School	07.01.2008	
	Carol Hulme	Lead Cover Supervisor at The Westleigh School	18.08.1997	
	Paul Lamoury	Deputy Headteacher of The Westleigh School		
	Tom Kearns	Deputy Headteacher of The Westleigh School		
	Gill Reiersen	School Business Manager of The Westleigh School		
Businesses of	Paula Crawley	Paula Crawley Education	01.09.2020	
which you are	Sue Foster	Nil		
sole proprietor	Dawn Platt	Nil		
or partner	Carlton Bramwell	Nil		
	John Holland	Nil		
	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Nil		
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Company	Paula Crawley	Nil		
Directorships	Sue Foster	Nil		
•	Dawn Platt	Nil		
	Carlton Bramwell	Nil		
	John Holland	Nil		
	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Nil		
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Charity	Paula Crawley	Foundation Governor XII Apostles RC Primary School	01.09.2007	
Trusteeships	Sue Foster	Nil		
and	Dawn Platt	Nil		
governorships	Carlton Bramwell	Nil		
in other educational	John Holland	Leigh Education Endowment Trust Leigh Community Education Trust	2010	
establishments	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Local Authority Governor – Newton Westpark Primary School Trustee – Citizens Advice Wigan Borough Chair of Trustees – Abram Ward Community Cooperative	12.2008 10.2008 02.2008	
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		

	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Leadership	Paula Crawley	Nil		
positions in	Sue Foster	Nil		
other	Dawn Platt	Working in other North Region schools for SET		
educational	Carlton Bramwell	Nil		
establishments	John Holland	Nil		
	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Nil		
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Memberships	Paula Crawley	ASCL		
of Professional	Sue Foster	Nil		
Bodies (and	Dawn Platt	Association for Science Education; ASCL		
any leadership	Carlton Bramwell	ASCL		
roles e.g. chair,	John Holland	Nil		
secretary)	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
	Dane Anderton	Fellow Higher Education Academy University and Colleges Union	11.2016 06.2014	
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Gifts or	Paula Crawley	Nil		
hospitality	Sue Foster	Nil		
offered to you	Dawn Platt	Nil		
on the last 12	Carlton Bramwell	Nil		
months while	John Holland	Nil		
acting in the role of Trustee	Deborah Lawson	Nil		
of SET	Dane Anderton	Nil		
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		
Immediate	Paula Crawley	Nil		
close family	Sue Foster	Nil		
connections and business	Dawn Platt	Nil		
interests	Carlton Bramwell	Wife works as Attendance Officer at The Westleigh School		
muruala	John Holland	Nil		
	Deborah Lawson	Nil		-
	Dane Anderton	Nil		-
	Lorraine Brooks	Nil		
	Carol Hulme	Nil		-
	Paul Lamoury	Nil		
	Tom Kearns	Nil		
	Gill Reiersen	Nil		