

Academy Council Organisation 2020-2021

Academy Council Composition

Type of Councillor	Number
Trust Appointed	7
Headteacher	1
Parent	1
Staff	1
Total	10

Chair of Academy Council:
Paula Crawley
C/o The Westleigh School
Westleigh Lane
Leigh
Wigan
WN7 5NL

Vice-Chair of Academy Council: Sue Foster Academy Council Clerk: Jill Cadman

Current Councillors

Councillor Name	Type of Councillor	Term of Office	Voting Rights
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	01.09.2015	Υ
Paula Crawley(Chair)	Trust Appointed	04.03.2020 - 03.03.2021	Υ
Sue Foster (Vice-Chair)	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Υ
John Holland	Trust Appointed	16.12.2019 – 15.12.2023	Y
Carol Hulme	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Y
Deborah Jordan	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Υ
Gareth Sutton	Trust Appointed	26.09.2018 – 25.09.2022	Y
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	04.03.2020 - 03.03.2021	Y
Gail Richards	Parent	28.11.2016 – 27.11.2020	Y
Lorraine Brooks	Staff	28.11.2016 – 27.11.2020	Y
Tom Kearns	Observer	01.09.2016 - 31.08.2020	Υ
Paul Lamoury	Observer	19.03.2017 - 18.03.2021	Υ
Gillian Reiersen	Observer	20.03.2017 - 19.03.2021	N

Councillors who have left within the last 12 Months

Councillor Name	Type of Councillor	Term of Office	Details of Pecuniary or personal interest or Governance role in other educational
Kelly Partington	Trust Appointed	28.09.2018 – 10.12.2019	institutions Nil
Jill Hankinson	Trust Appointed	02.02.2016 - 01.02.2020	Nil

FINANCE & RESOURCES COMMITTEE

Chair: Deborah Jordan Vice-Chair: Gail Richards Clerk: Jill Cadman

Name	Type of Councillor / Associate Member	Voting rights
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	Υ
Deborah Jordan	Trust Appointed	Υ
Gail Richards	Parent	Υ
Paula Crawley	Trust Appointed	Υ
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	Υ
Lorraine Brooks	Staff	Υ
John Holland	Trust Appointed	Υ
Tom Kearns (DHT)	Observer	Υ
Paul Lamoury (DHT)	Observer	Υ
School Business Manager (Gill Reiersen)	Observer	N

EDUCATION & STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Chair: Sue Foster

Vice Chair: Deborah Jordan

Clerk: Jill Cadman

Name	Type of Councillor / Associate	Voting	
	Member	rights	
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher	Υ	
Sue Foster	Trust Appointed	Υ	
Deb Jordan	Trust Appointed	Υ	
Gareth Sutton	Trust Appointed	Υ	
Carol Hulme	Trust Appointed	Υ	
Paula Crawley	Trust Appointed	Υ	
Dawn Platt	Trust Appointed	Y	
Tom Kearns (DHT)	Observer	Υ	
Paul Lamoury (DHT)	Observer	Υ	

Terms of reference for all committees are available on request from school.

Pay Committee	Clerked by Jill Cadman	
Name		Type of Councillor
Gail Richards		Trust Appointed
John Holland		Trust Appointed
Sue Foster		Trust Appointed
Deborah Jordan		Trust Appointed

Pupil Discipline, General Complaints, Staff Dismissal/Grievance/Appeals Committees: 3 Councillors, with no prior knowledge of the matter, will be called alphabetically to form these committees.

Headteacher Performance Management Reviewers		
Name Type of Councillor		
John Holland	Trust Appointed	
Deborah Jordan Trust Appointed		
Gareth Sutton Trust Appointed		

Specific Responsibilities

Responsibility	Name of Councillor
SEND and Inclusion*	John Holland
Safeguarding/Child Protection *	Sue Foster and Gareth Sutton
including Children Looked After	
Health & Safety	Carol Hulme and Lorraine Brooks
Finance	Gail Richards
Behaviour and Personal Development	Sue Foster and Gareth Sutton
*statutory	

Pupil Discipline, General Complaints, Staff Dismissal/Grievance/Appeals Committees: 3 Governors, with no prior knowledge of the matter, will be called alphabetically to form these committees.

Headteacher Performance Management Reviewers	
Name Type of Councillor	
John Holland	Trust Appointed
Deborah Jordan	Trust Appointed
Gareth Sutton	Trust Appointed

Dates of Meetings

Term	Date	Meeting
Autumn Term	Wednesday 23 rd September 2020	Full Academy Council Meeting
	Tuesday 20 th October 2020 4pm	Nomination and Ren Committee Meeting
	Tuesday 10 th November 2020	Committee Meetings
	Tuesday 15 th December 2020 4pm	Full Academy Council Meeting
Spring Term	Tuesday 9 th February 2021	Committee Meetings
	Wednesday 28 th April 2021 4pm	Full Academy Council Meeting
Summer Term	Tuesday 6 th July 2021	Committee Meetings

Finance & Resources Committee at 4pm Education & Standards Committee at 5pm

Register of Interests

Name	Details of Pecuniary or personal interest	Governance role in other educational institutions
Paula Crawley	School Improvement Partner with the Shaw Education Trust	Foundation Governor at Twelve Apostles RC Primary School
Sue Foster	Nil	Nil
Dawn Platt	Deputy Director of Education with the Shaw Education Trust	Governor at Tottington High School Governor at Wolstanton High School
Carlton Bramwell	Headteacher of The Westleigh School Wife works as Attendance Officer at The Westleigh School	Nil
John Holland	Nil	Leigh Education Endowment Trust - Charity Trustee Leigh Community Education - Charity Trustee Hindley J&I – Chair of Governors Westleigh St Pauls – Vice Chair of Governors
Deborah Jordan	Nil	Nil
Gareth Sutton	Nil	Leigh Community Trust – Charity Trustee Hindley Abram Grammar School – Charity Trustee
Gail Richards	Nil	St Paul's Westleigh Primary School – Parent Governor
Mrs L Brooks	Finance Officer at The Westleigh School	Nil
Carol Hulme	Cover Supervisor at The Westleigh School	Nil
Paul Lamoury	Deputy Headteacher at The Westleigh School	Nil
Tom Kearns	Deputy Headteacher at The Westleigh School	Nil
Gill Reiersen	School Business Manager at the Westleigh School	Nil